ASHEcon 2014

5th Biennial Conference of the American Society of Health Economists Hosted by the Schaeffer Center for Health Policy & Economics


Scholarship Winners Announced

The American Society of Health Economics (ASHEcon) and Yale University announced the winners of six $1,500 scholarships aimed at women and underrepresented minorities from the fields of health economics.  Recipients will be provided $1,500 to go towards conference registration fees and travel expenses.  This year’s winners include:

Marion Aouad is a PhD student (2014) in Economics at University of California, Berkeley.  Aouad’s primary research interests include demography, health economics, and labor economics.

Joseph Benitez is a PhD student (2014) in Health Policy and Administration at University of Illinois at Chicago.  Benitez’s primary research include application of health and labor economics to health services and policy research, applied econometrics & program evaluation, natural experiment, and access to care among the medically underserved.

Monica Deza, PhD, is an Assistant Professor in Economics in the School of Economic, Political and Policy Sciences at University of Texas at Dallas.  Deza’s research and teaching interests include labor economics, economics of crime, applied economics, economics of risky health behaviors and economic demography.

levitra coupon 2012 Salama Freed is a PhD Student (2017) at Vanderbilt University.  Freed is a Robert Wood Johnson Health Policy Fellowship Recipient.  Her research fields include health care sector management, health economics, and advanced microeconomic theory.

Lorenzo Nicolas Almada is a PhD Student (2014) in Economics at Georgia State University.  Almada’s research interests are in Health Economics, Applied Microeconomics and Labor Economics.

Kristina M. Rabarison, DrPH; is a Prevention Effectiveness Fellow at the Center for Disease Control and Prevention in Atlanta, Georgia.  Rabarison’s concentration is in health services management.